Ballroom Dance > Arthur Murray, Leading, Big Self Questions!

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by dgarstang, Jan 28, 2012.

1. dgarstang

dgarstang Member

Hi All.

I started taking lessons just over a year ago at an Arthur Murray studio. My program includes cha-cha, foxtrot, hustle, rumba, salsa, swing, tango and waltz. I'm currently a bronze-2 level dancer.

I've had 88 private lessons so far, and regularly attend all the group classes and the practice parties. Dancing doesn't come naturally to me. By day I'm an engineer. The reasons I started dancing include improving my confidence, having a physical activity to get involved in when I'm much older (I'm 39), and also, I rather naively thought it might be a good way to meet women (I'm single).

So, here's the issues. The first is that I find that when I go somewhere outside Arthur Murray to dance, it's totally different. I've recently tried taking some group waltz and hustle classes, and the waltz is completely different (cross step waltz, redowa waltz etc), while the 'basic' hustle class gets right into syncopated timing. There's a whole lot of other variations as well.

The second issue is my leading. It's not great. I'm not a particularly aggressive guy. I'm pretty passive, so leading has been a great challenge for me. I'm getting better at it, and my instructor has really been nagging me about my frame, the correct posture and my 'connection' for the past few months. However, I still have a long way to go.