General Dance Discussion > Beginner here, 2 months and a half later. Don't know what to do...

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by macbadoo, Jun 13, 2017.

1. macbadoo

macbadoo New Member

This is going to come off as a rant, since I don't have anyone to talk about dancing in my close circle of friends.

I have started dancing 2 months ago. It has been fun so far. But I'm having new problems. First and foremost. I stink at dancing. I have bad posture, my lead is almost non-existent, I mess up all the time, still not feeling the music and overall I'm a boring person, so naturally I don't really talk much during classes. I suspect that can be changed with time and dedication but it kills me to know that I'm going to make people unhappy with my attempt. It seems that my "newcomer" status is starting to wear off and I'm finally having dancing partners that show clear discomfort in dancing with me because of my screw ups. It was only a matter of time, patience has it limits anyway.
    The more experienced dancers sometimes give me different explanations on some of the dance moves, saying that I'm doing something wrong, yet, I do the same moves with the teacher and she thinks I'm doing it right.

The shows we are preparing are right at door. That is not what troubles me. What troubles me is what is going to happen after that. Kizomba is an improvisational dance. How can I improvise if I still don't like the music, yet, I find the dance itself very fun.

Does anyone else know any style of dancing that, at least at first, hated the style of music?

2. Mr 4 styles

Mr 4 styles Well-Known Member

Waltz

Now I love it!!!

3. FancyFeet

FancyFeet Well-Known Member

Tango for me... it's grown on me over time, and I appreciate it, but I don't know if I'll ever love it.

4. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member