Swing Discussion Boards > Champions are a bad influence

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by AirColor, Feb 15, 2017.

1. AirColor

AirColor New Member

I'm seeing a trend in WCS recently where the Champion dancers (and many All-Stars) are focusing too much on musicality/three-dimentionality while sacrificing the execution of proper techniques, and I fear that it would hinder the growth of many beginners, who often like to imitate the professionals. I'm even seeing some "advanced" follows who can't follow properly because they focus too much on styling and musicality. I get that WCS is not standardized and is constantly evolving, but do you think the Champion dancers have some responsibility of dancing properly?

Just for context I've been dancing WCS, Zouk, Lindy spectrum for 5 years, and I compete in all of them.

chomsky and Larinda McRaven like this.
  2. RiseNFall

RiseNFall Well-Known Member

I just re-watched Jordan Frisbee and Tatiana Mailman's 2015 and 2009 routines and they are both stunning pieces of dancing, though stylistically different.