General Dance Discussion > Does it make sense to teach an advanced class?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by AirColor, Jul 29, 2017.

1. AirColor

AirColor New Member

In terms of running a business. Since there are more beginners than socially intermediate dancers, and more intermediate dancers than advanced, it makes sense to focus mostly on the beginners (which all studios do). While hosting an advanced class may attract advanced dancers, thus enriching the social dance scene with higher level dancers, in my experience advanced dancers don't even attend classes. While as a student I have benefitted a lot from taking poorly attended advanced classes, in terms of running a studio does it make sense to have advanced classes with much smaller number of students?

2. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

Much depends upon 2 things; The volume of attendees , and the quality of the teaching.

The very last studio in which I gave class work,( States ) was before the social began.

I took the beginners class and another teacher had the Interm./Advanced, both running at the same time. My class consistently had 30 plus( every week for at least a year ) and the other class about 10 to 15 .

The classes were charged separately from the social.

This was in a large metro area of a major city ,so this might not work as well in smaller towns.

3. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

In the end it will be kind of a mixed calculation. Though unprofitable you should try to stick advanced dancers to your studio. Try to offer summer specials or special workshops.

Mr 4 styles likes this.
  4. PaulBunyon

PaulBunyon Active Member

I have the same "doubt" as you, you probably won't attract enough advanced dancers to make the class a viable. That said, my studio offers intermediate and advanced classes and many beginners attend them because they don't see themselves as beginners.

5. FancyFeet

FancyFeet Well-Known Member