How do I keep growing?

Discussion in 'Swing Discussion Boards' started by Garrett Kreifels, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Garrett Kreifels

Garrett Kreifels New Member

I have been taking some swing dance lessons, but the teacher is moving away in may. Being from Nebraska there isn't always "Just another teacher" around, so I need a way to keep learning even though no one is here to teach me. I love dance and don't want to lose it; swing is a genre that as a musician I have always loved dearly, and this makes it that much better!

Things I can do
    • 20's Charleston
    • 30's Charleston
    • Some Lindy Hop
    • Jojo's
    • Some basic breaks
    Any help would be appreciated!
    Thank you so much!

2. leee

leee Well-Known Member

Are these private lessons you're taking, or a group lesson before a social dance? If the latter, then keep doing the social dances! If the former, find a social dance!

3. Steve Pastor

Steve Pastor Moderator Staff Member

Welcome, Garrett.
    Where do you dance?
    What are people there doing?
    Are there other places you can go to do swing, or watch people to see what the local styles are?

I'm going to say that could determine how you should proceed. So, I'll withhold further comment until we hear from you again.

4. leee

leee Well-Known Member

5. Juliskamagyar

Juliskamagyar New Member

On the positive side, the dances you mention have a lot of room for creativity and solo self expression.Youtube is not a substitute but it sure is a welcome resource. I use free lessons on it to learn new steps, style moves, have fun and exercise, etc. All in front of a mirror. This is in addition to our group lessons.

99.9 % of the folks here learn dance just to have fun. Perhaps you could find yourself a dance partner who just enjoys learning to dance. I often dance in a trio...my sister, me and the IPad. This is how I'm learning Lindy.

leee likes this.
  6. Garrett Kreifels

Alright, to answer some questions