General Dance Discussion > How many basic steps in a dance?

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by ticolora, Nov 1, 2016.

1. ticolora

ticolora Member

I'm new to dancing. For the sake of the discussion let's assume nightclub two step.

I am comfortable with 10 patterns. Are there any guidelines for a "good" amount of basics?

Should I try to minimize number of basic steps in a routine, and use those mostly to bridge patterns or as a fallback while I'm thinking of a next pattern to execute?

If you take a large number of good social dancers (couples), and have them dance to a variety of reasonably sited songs, with average song duration of 80 bars. What do you guess a distribution of basics count proportion would be? Is it every other move is basic, or is it more like 1 out of 10?

I'm trying to set myself up in a right direction as I learn to string patterns together. So far, I think that a dance looks better if it has fewer basic steps (although sometimes a basic is exactly what song is calling for).

Would you agree that a better dancer, in general, uses fewer basics than a novice dancer?

2. davedove

davedove Active Member

In a social dancing situation, you can do a great dance with 10 figures, as long as you do them well. When some beginning dancers watch me dance with a classmate, they will comment on how much I know. I will tell them that if they really watch closely, they will see I don't use that many different figures. When I'm at a social, my objective isn't to show off how many steps I know, but to dance well, using steps I'm very comfortable with. Now, if I'm dancing with someone from my class, I will often try out figures we are learning, but that's only with people from my class.

It's not how many steps you use, it's how you dance them that counts.

3. twnkltoz

twnkltoz Well-Known Member

I'm answering both as a professional and someone who social dances a lot as both a leader and a follower. I've been dancing for over 20 years.