Ballroom Dance > Independence Day Ball for Bronze Dancer?

Discussion in 'Ballroom Dance' started by ballroomdancer1211, May 18, 2014.

1. ballroomdancer1211

ballroomdancer1211 New Member

Hey Guys,

I'm a bit new to ballroom dancing and am currently a bronze dancer. I decided to sign up for this year's IDB camp, but I'm feeling a bit anxious as it seems that most of the dancers that typically attend the camp are advanced (silver, gold, pre-champ etc) dancers.

For those who have attended the camp in the past, are there any bronze dancers there? Will I be completely out of place and behind/have the lessons go over my head?

Can anyone also give a description of how the lessons are formatted ? I know that the camp is primarily focused on technique but I'm assuming you need to know certain figures for the technique to be applicable--- so in the case of dancing and rotating with other dancers during lessons (which I've heard is how it's typically done), should I be expected to know certain figures going in?

I'm really hoping the camp will help me improve and ideally be a high bronze/silver dancer. I'm just a bit worried as I don't want the camp to be more discouraging if I'm not well prepared.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks!

2. Dr Dance

Dr Dance Well-Known Member

During my dance weekends, there is often a wide disparity of dance levels of students within the group classes that are labelled A B C (translation: all levels). Teachers have ways of dealing with this issue. The instructors at the Independence Day camp should be no different.