General Dance Discussion > Laughing / laughed at while dancing

Discussion in 'General Dance Discussion' started by tido, Jan 30, 2017.

1. tido

tido New Member

Hi,

I dance kizomba, and last night was dancing with a beginner in a beginner class. I'm not a beginner, barely an intermediate. I'm a guy, when I dance I laugh at my mistakes, I perhaps laugh too much at times loosing focus on the dance. It seems with some partners I can mutually share a laugh of my or my partners body movements or mistakes. During this particular class perhaps I was too liberal with my laughing with this particular beginner. Upon finishing up the dance exercise, which I though was going well. She was very displeased, and said "thanks for laughing at me, this is my first class", with clear emotional frustration on her face. She looked angry and frustrated, people next to us notices. It caught me off guard as I though our practice was a success, she did not think so though. I know people can get sensitive in dancing, and I'm probably one of them, been called shy before. If I'm a giggler, should I keep my giggling to a minimum, so my partner does not think I'm intentionally laughing at her? But if someone can't laugh at themselves, am I suppose to sensor myself? Seems to me some take their dancing too seriously? Do girls take any sort of criticism worse than guys? Even if I did slightly laugh at her, which I was not aware, because I was concentrated on the dance, I don't know if she was overreacting. May be overthinking this, :). Let me know your opinions on laughing/giggling.

Cheers,
    rev

chomsky likes this.
  2. RiseNFall

RiseNFall Well-Known Member