Salsa > nice slow salsa songs

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by NiciBo, Apr 16, 2017.

1. NiciBo

NiciBo New Member

hi,

I am looking for nice slow salsa songs to practice dancing

Breakaway - Lex Eazy and the Mambo Club

Acid - Ray Barreto

Classical Gas - Al Delory

2. MaggieMoves

MaggieMoves Well-Known Member

This is more or less a joke... but oddly it works well with total beginners:

3. tangotime

tangotime Well-Known Member

:eek::eek::eek:

I will never understand WHY, the correct style of music is abandoned for "Pop" styles.
    The latin music world is replete with fab. music for all tastes, and so readily available .

4. tangotime

First.. what do you define as "slow " ?..

I will dig out some "slow " songs from my library, later...

5. MaggieMoves

MaggieMoves Well-Known Member

When dealing with total beginners, any advantage you can use can't hurt. A bit of a tongue in cheek post.

6. tangotime

personally. I do not consider using non latin songs , advantageous. They create a false dichotomy..

As to TIC, some may take the suggestions seriously, as we see in some club DJs, who perpetuate that style.

opendoor likes this.
  7. opendoor

opendoor Well-Known Member

This is right, but still you are wrong: always the music defines the dancing. Of course the opener will actually learn something, but not salsa. The aim is not that steps will work to a certain kind of music (viennese steps will work on certain swing tunes, but dancing is a cultural thing, not a technical).

My advice, there are some salsa apps around. The opener can slower down the tempo and practice anytime and everywhere he goes.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2017
  8. opendoor

This is right, but still you are wrong: always the music defines the dancing. Of course the opener will actually learn something, but not salsa. The aim is not that steps will work to a certain kind of music (viennese steps will work on certain swing tunes, but dancing is a cultural thing, not a technical).