Salsa > Salsa Timing and Feeling the Beat

Discussion in 'Salsa' started by Shan, Sep 8, 2016.

1. Shan

Shan New Member

I am quite new to Dancing. I've only taken salsa for 1 month and have never really danced. I'm also quite stiff and awkward in general. Because of my relative inexpereince or maybe my natural lack of talent, I'm finding it difficult to identify the count in salsa music. I can generally pickup the beat in pop music, but salsa music seems a little too fast and too complicated for me. I can pick up 1 sometimes when its obvious, but generally im kinda lost.

I try to keep count when i'm dancing in class, but dancing leading doing spins and keeping count is a little difficult all at once so i lose the count after a while and for there on i'm lost.

a more experience friend of mine keeps telling me dance in public all the time but i a little apprehensive about screwing up in public, especially when i'm sober.

So, I'd like to know if there are any effective techniques or exercises to help me keep count better, which dont involve dancing in public (Dancing in class is fine)?

2. blackswan

blackswan Member

Play it on headphones at home and just do the basic, while counting out loud. It's simple, and you may feel silly at first, but it will sink in.

3. Loki

Loki Well-Known Member

Google for salsa clave. Try dancing to that.

4. Jag75

Jag75 Member

1 month isn't long, you've only just started. Give it time :)

Shan likes this.
  5. Jag75

Jag75 Member

You shouldn't be worrying about spins and fancy moves at this point - just focus on the basic fundamentals.

Shan and Angel HI like this.
  6. Shan

Shan New Member

I've been taught a left turn, right turn and copa. Basically i've been trying mix these up. So nothing fancy.

Angel HI likes this.
  7. Joy In Motion

Joy In Motion Active Member